Statement From Widnes Vikings

Widnes Vikings are delighted to confirm that the board of the Rugby Football League have granted RFL Membership to the consortium who agreed a deal to takeover the club with the administrators earlier this week. 

On Friday afternoon, the Vikings were ecstatic to be told that the takeover has been given the green light by the game’s governing body.

As revealed last night, the names of the people involved in the consortium are Chris Price, Jason Shaw, Roger Harrison MBE, Stuart Murphy, David Dean, Tracey Glendinning, and Rod Steele. Full details of each individual will be released in due course, with supporters being able to get to know the club’s new owners in more detail. 

With the takeover being granted, the Vikings can confirm that the club will incur a 12-point penalty in the 2019 Betfred Championship season, effective immediately. This means that the club will now sit on -8 points. 

After receiving the approval for the consortium takeover, Sunday’s fixture against Featherstone Rovers will go ahead as planned. The club will reveal ticket details for this fixture very shortly.

As a result of the takeover, Widnes Vikings can confirm the departures from the club following the takeover.

The Vikings can firstly confirm that first team players Adam Tangata, Krisnan Inu and Wellington Albert have all left the club. 

Krisnan joined the club for the 2018 season, and made an instant impact with the club with 6 tries in his first 7 games before injury cut short his time on the field. Inu finishes his time at the Vikings with 19 appearances, scoring 10 tries. 

Wellington Albert departs the club with 2 tries in 12 appearances in his spell at the Halton Stadium, with both his scores coming against St Helens.

Adam Tangata joined the Vikings for the 2019 season after a successful spell at Halifax RLFC. Adam has been an ever-present for the club at the start of this season, but suffered an injury against Toronto Wolfpack to rule him out of action. 

As a result of the club going into administration, the club can also confirm that academy players Sam Walters and Jarrod O’Connor have also left the club to join Leeds Rhinos for undisclosed fees, a decision that was made by the administrators appointed.  

Sam Walters is a back-rower, playing his community rugby at Halton Farnworth Hornets, and studied at Saints Peter and Paul Catholic College. He made two appearances for the Vikings first team squad, in the 2017 Festive Derby against Warrington, and a try-scoring appearance against North Wales Crusaders in January.

Jarrod O’Connor is a player who made a huge impression during his time in the Academy. Jarrod played his community rugby at Halton Farnworth Hornets and attended Wade Deacon High School. 

Widnes Vikings would like to go on record and thank each player, both first team and Academy, for their service to the club. 

The club can also confirm that first team staff Adam Rowland and Andy Woolfenden, and administrative staff Emmy Holmes and Samantha Croston, have also left the club. The Vikings again would like to thank all for their efforts during their time at the Halton Stadium. 

More from Local Sport

Cover art for Don't Call Me Up

On Air

Total Access Top 40 playing Mabel - Don't Call Me Up